Spirit and Light – A Catholic Collaborative for Living Faith presents:

An Evening with FR. JOHN DEAR, author of THE GOSPEL OF PEACE

Monday, March 11, at 7:00 pm

McDonough Hall on the St. Giles Campus
1101 Columbian Avenue in Oak Park, IL 60302
(NW corner of Columbian Avenue and Greenfield Street)

$10 Suggested Donation

REGISTER ONLINE NOW!

For more info, email at marynpaul@comcast.net

Co-sponsored by St. Catherine of Siena Center, Dominican University

Peacemaker, author, and Nobel Peace Prize Nominee Fr. John Dear will talk with us about his new book, his life’s work: The Gospel of Peace: A Commentary on Matthew, Mark, and Luke from the Perspective of Nonviolence. It is the first ever commentary on the Synoptic Gospels from the perspective of active nonviolence in the tradition of Gandhi and Dr. King. In this original work, Fr. John walks us through every line of the three synoptic Gospels pointing out Jesus’ practice and teachings on nonviolence, peace, and universal love and invites us to follow him. Join us!

John Dear has been working for justice and disarmament and teaching peace and nonviolence for over four decades. The author of forty books, he has traveled in warzones around the world, and spoken to audiences around the world. He is the executive director of www.beatitudescenter.org, where he offers online programs. He was nominated many times for the Nobel Peace Prize, including by Archbishop Desmond Tutu.

GET YOUR COPY OF THE GOSPEL OF PEACE! – To be ready for Fr. John Dear’s talk on March 11, read The Gospel of Peace now!

Individuals or groups who purchase books will receive complementary reflection questions to fully engage this thoughtful commentary on the Synoptic Gospels.

The Spirit and Light Lifelong Learning Committee will be selling the books for $30 – Book list price is $34

Book sales will be held following Masses on Sunday, January 28 at St. Catherine-St. Lucy and St. Giles Family Mass, the weekend of February 3 and 4 at St. Giles and St. Edmund, and Sunday, February 4 at Ascension.